liebster-awardI posted my first review exactly three months and one week ago. I have sincerely enjoyed every moment of blogging, and I have already learned so much about literature, story-telling, and writing. If no one read my blog, that wouldn’t stop me from reading and reviewing 52 books this year. But it is so nice to know that there are people out there who are reading (and enjoying!) my work. So a big thanks goes out to Eva at The Paperback Princess, who nominated my blog for a Liebster Award!

The Liebster Award is kind of like a chain letter for bloggers, and as far as anyone can tell, it started in Germany in 2010. There isn’t an official site or even an official winner. Bloggers nominate other smaller, less popular blogs who they think deserve some more attention. Nominees are then challenged to answer a few questions about themselves so everyone can get to know them and their blogs better and then nominate new blogs of their choosing. The official rules are to state 11 facts about yourself, answer the 11 questions that your nominator asked, and ask 11 questions to your nominees. Let’s get started.

11 Facts About Me

  1. My mom home-schooled me in kindergarten, and I have vivid memories of sobbing at my grandparents’ house because she was making me take a break from playing to practice reading. In my rage I swore off reading forever.
  2. That didn’t last very long… My parents have video evidence of me receiving the reading award at an end-of-the school-year party in second grade for reading over 200 books. I believe 50 pages equaled 1 book.
  3. Despite being a total bookworm, I actually enjoy the outdoors. I love cycling, hiking, swimming, and anything that puts me outside.
  4. My favorite weather is rain.
  5. I can never decide which color I like more: yellow or gray . . .
  6. If (God forbid) I was forced to choose one book or series from my childhood for my children to read, it would be the Redwall books by Brian Jacques. No, they haven’t taken the world by storm, inspired block buster movies, or been on the New York Times bestseller list before even being published. But they created a very real, very magical world where children can learn about friendship, loyalty, and death all while experiencing the most fantastical adventures. Jacques was a genius for sure and, silly as it may sound, I believe that his books changed my life.
  7. A secret dream of mine is to be interviewed by Terry Gross on Fresh Air or be a guest on Wait Wait . . . Don’t Tell Me.
  8. My list of celebrity crushes include Bret McKenzie, Andrew Garfield, Tom Hiddleston, Matthew Baynton, and YouTuber Jordan Taylor. Do you see the pattern? Tall, thin, dark hair . . . British accent is a huge plus.
  9. I am FASCINATED by civil engineering, specifically the highway systems.
  10. I have lost/broken/had stolen 6 of the 9 phones that I have owned in my lifetime. One of those was broken, repaired, and then broken again.
  11. My name is Summer. Summer is not my favorite season, I have not seen (500) Days of Summer, I was not born in the summer. Stop asking.

11 Answers to Eva’s Questions

  1. Austen or Brontë? Why? Brontë. I love Jane Austen, but the Brontë sisters’ works have a little more intrigue and mystery. I also adore how forward-thinking and self-sufficient they were as women. Their strong female characters inspire me.
  2. What was the last translated book you read? One Hundred Years of Solitude. It was incredible and beautiful. I wish I could read it in the original Spanish, because it’s probably even more beautiful.
  3. Where do you prefer to read? My parents’ home has a screened-in porch that overlooks the lake. It is perfectly relaxing and secluded.
  4. Are you part of a book club? If not, would you ever want to be a part of one? I am not, and I don’t think I would want to be. I actually wrote a short story that begins, “In June 2013 I was invited to join a book club. Three months later I was asked to leave.” It’s not based on a true story, but that’s because no one has asked me to be in one… : )
  5. What is your earliest library memory? Shout out to Mrs. Krost, Mrs. Bickel and the rest of Bremen Public Library’s amazing staff! What’s my earliest library memory? More like what’s my earliest non-library memory? From story time to writing contests to science projects, we spent hours at the library each week doing so much more than just browsing the shelves. I would not be the reader I am today if it weren’t for my librarians who loved their jobs, town, and children’s books.
  6. What are your feelings on choose your own adventure books? Ambiguous. I think I’ve read one choose-your-own-adventure book. It was fun, but I found it frustrating. I want YOU to tell me what happens.
  7. What book are you going to read next? Next up is Philip Pullman’s The Subtle Knife. After that, I’ve been choosing books from the BBC’s Top 100 list, so I tend to decide on a week-by-week basis.
  8. Do you abandon books? Why or why not? I am a finisher. Books that get abandoned are few and far between. But if I do, the book probably didn’t immediately capture my attention, and then it got lost in stacks of papers or at the bottom of a bag. I usually feel very guilty and also have a hefty library fee afterwards.
  9. If you read biographies, do you read mostly about men or women? For no real good reason, I have not read many biographies, but the ones I have read tend to be about women. I obviously relate to women, and I find their stories of success really inspiring.
  10. Are you a library regular or a book store shopper? I used to be a library regular, though I’ve always dreamed of having a library in my home. With this blog, I also decided to buy all of the books I read. I love it, and it has led me to discover two really awesome book stores: Better World Books in South Bend and Indy Reads Books in Indianapolis.
  11. If you could see anyone in concert, living or dead, who would it be? The Beatles. Hands down. Except I would want to ban all frantically screaming girls, because I can’t handle that. I’ve seen the clips from the Ed Sullivan Show.

5 Nominees (Because I’m still discovering new blogs!)

The Little Library Cafe – Food found in literature, brought to life on your table

Read Faced – In-depth analysis and book reviews

Journey of the Starving Artist – A musician’s journey through love and life

Lady in Read – Straight-to-the-point book reviews

Yvonne with a Why – Everything you wish your teachers had taught you

 

11 Questions for my Nominees

  1. Why did you start your blog?
  2. Does your career involve writing, and how does that affect your blogging style?
  3. If you could marry a fictional character, who would it be? (Anyone from literature, tv, film, etc.)
  4. What was your favorite book or series when you were a child?
  5. Are you a morning person or night owl?
  6. How long does it take you to write a blog post?
  7. What is something that affected the way you view or live your life? It can be anything from a simple quote or eureka moment to an inspiring person or experience.
  8. What is your least favorite food that you absolutely cannot even swallow?
  9. Cat, dog, or other?
  10. If you could only use one social media platform for the rest of your life, which one would you choose?
  11. Do you put your dishes in the sink or on the counter?
11 thoughts on “

  1. I love the Redwall books!! I’m kind of glad they’ve never been widely adapted or become Twilight-level unpopular-popular, they’re just such beautiful books.

    • Absolutely! I always feared they would try to make them into movies…there’s some things (like talking,warring animals) that are best left to the imagination. : )

  2. I also loved the Redwall books! I didn’t actually know they weren’t popular – everyone at my school was reading them.
    You really should see (500) Days of Summer – it’s a friggin’ delight. I’m with you on rain. You would love Raincouver! Thanks for playing!

    • Haha! I guess in my school Redwall wasn’t as popular. But they definitely haven’t made any movies from them. (thank goodness!) And Vancouver is one place I would actually LOVE to go on vacation!

  3. I’ll join in on the Redwall love – those books are excellent, though they always made me super hungry. The descriptions Jacques did of food, though they weren’t things I would really eat, were always so good that I found I had to be munching on something while I was reading these 🙂
    I laughed so hard about the Summer post – I imagine being named after a season is much like being super short in that people give you some pretty repetitive lines (“do you love Frodo?” was one of my faves). My sympathies 🙂 -Tania

    • I’m so glad no one’s gasping and asking me, “WHAT?! What about Harry Potter or Lord of the Rings?!” I know, I know . . . I love them too. But Redwall has a special place in my heart. 🙂

      And my sympathies in regards to the short comments! People just say the first thing that pops into their head, don’t they? Lol!

  4. Pingback: Sharing is Caring: Liebster Award | Lady in Re(a)d

  5. (in case it isn’t clear, I’m totally procrastinating on work by reading these.)
    1. I am part of a book club, but it’s been me and one friend for quite some time because everyone else left *us.* We wouldn’t have asked them to leave, but on the other hand we weren’t sad when they did. 😉
    2. CIVIL ENGINEERING DOES NOT GET ENOUGH HYPE. For me it’s the highways and traffic control. It’s like a dance. A lives-and-societal-peace-at-stake dance. Boggles my mind.

    • Procrastinate away my friend! 😉 Hahaha! Book clubs are hard! I think people have different reasons for reading and different experiences when reading that can sometimes be very difficult to relate to. (Also, very different standards.)

      And the huge highway systems out in LA and other big cities just like pieces of art to me. I love them.

  6. Pingback: Lady in Read | Sharing is Caring: Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

