Treasure Island

By Robert Louis Stevenson
ship
I ran as I never ran before, scarce minding the direction of my flight, so long as it let me from the murderers; and as I ran, fear grew and grew upon me, until it turned into a kind of frenzy.  Indeed, could any one be more entirely lost than I?

I have read many classics, and while I often enjoy them, I rarely fall in love with them.  So it was no surprise to me that Treasure Island was a fun book, but nothing to go shouting about from the rooftops.  However, it was written in 1883, and the fact that we are still reading it today is a tribute to Stevenson’s story telling and creativity.  His prose is descriptive but never superfluous (like so many of his contemporaries), and the story line moves quickly  along like a ship caught in the current.

Stevenson penned the short novel for his stepson, and while it isn’t one of my favorites, I can easily see it becoming the spark that ignites the flame in a young reader.  The book is narrated by a young boy who performs several heroic deeds throughout the story, and I even found my heart beating faster at the climax of the book.  His characters are colorful and have enough complexity to make them interesting.  On top of that, it’s a very quick read.  If you are looking for a book that will encourage your children to start reading or just want something fun and simple while you are at the beach, then this is the book for you.

Leave a Reply

